Showing posts with label Friends. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Friends. Show all posts

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

Of Suicide:And how Immortal Omniscient Omnipotent Humane Universal Anthropomorphic Beings make me sick

Disclaimer: This is a very long post.

Enthusiastic people are a genuine puzzlement for me. Especially the ones who are all fired up about all things trite and blunderful!

"Oh! It's a great morning, it's going to be a great day!"

Many a cheerful induhviduals have started out their days saying this and most have proceeded to get their asses fucked through the course of the entire day. However, such grave misfortune deters not the cheerfulness of true optimists, and they end their day with this little gem of self-motivation:

"I should still be positive and thank God! Things could have been worse!"

Oh really? Why thats a fucking revealation! Here's another revealation for you:
Things can always be worse!
Just think about the shittiest thing that has ever happened to you, and I can assure you you'll be able to think of something shittier that could have happened!

Here's a possible response to my beautifully articulated argument:
But that's what i'm saying. Since things can always be worse, you should be cheerful and thankful all the time for the fact that they're not!

I have just one thing to say in response to this. Just try imagining for a moment how stupid you look being thankful about all the crap that's happening to you!Oh, a bird shit on my face,thank God elephants don't fly!

The answer, according to me, is not in being paranoid about an uncertain and possibly shitty future, as hardcore pessimists would argue. It's about being aware of the fact that shit can and probably will happen, and passively resigning yourself to it. It's about being adequately mirthful or sullen about the current situation, as the case may be, and not expecting anything from the future.

There is a possible pitfall though, and I know this because it has occurred to me. You may become so passive about what life has to offer that you may actually start looking forward to death, or something equally drastic, just to break the monotony. Having observed the lives of a gazillion people around me, I'm now aware of a certain set of courses that life is bound to take.
The problem is, I'm not motivated one way or the other. I'm not looking forward to anything. Good job, good marriage, good children, death! Bad job, bad marriage, bad children, death! Just fill in a few details and replace good with bad here and there and you can broadly chalk out the stages in the life of most of the people you know. The outcome is always the same,and it's the only certainty. Also, what happens after death is probably the only genuine uncertainty in life. From what I've seen, heard and read, I'm inclined to believe that nothing happens. This life is all there is.

Possible Motivation: There's just one life, you should make the most of it. It's your only opportunity after all!

Brilliant Rebuttal: There's just one life, does it even matter if you make the most of it? Do you think Alexander's victories will matter when the Earth itself has been consumed by the Sun?

Well maybe you will be relieved of all miseries after death, but what about those who love you? How can you make them suffer? Umm...once I'm dead, I don't really need to care for my loved ones, do I?

I'm currently reading The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus, and this post if quite obviously an indirect result of the same. The essay starts with an amazing line.

There is but one truly serious philisophical problem , and that is suicide. Judging whether life is or is not worth living amounts to answering the fundamental question of philosophy. All the rest—whether or not individual choice must be safeguarded, whether abortion can be legislated—comes afterwards. These are games; one must first answer.

The author then proceeds to illustrate the absurdity of life through the example of Sisyphus, a character in Greek mythology who was punished by the Gods to engage in the meaningless task of rolling a boulder up a hill over and over again for eternity. It's a brilliant analogy in the sense that the majority,if not all, of the human race lives equally meaningless lives. However, in the last chapter, Camus abruptly concludes that it is not a meaningless task after all, in fact Sisyphus shouldn't be searching for meaning at all. He should try to find motivation in the task that has been assigned to him, howsoever monotonous it may be. After an exciting start, the end seems rather forced when Camus concludes, Sisyphus is happy! To put it very simply, you're not supposed to be worried about the meaning of your actions, you have to learn to be cheerfully dumb. This singular argument effectively attempts to render most of philosophical thought inappropriate. Or as my nanaji likes to put it, "Philosophy is useless".

Thankfully, I also read another amazing book recently, The Fabric of the Cosmos: Space, Time and the Texture of Reality by Brian Greene, an eminent physicist and one of the most prominents string theorists. It justifies the search for meaning in life by making it clear that Physics, and most other significant sciences, have emanated from Philosophy. If we had restricted ourselves to mundane tasks without ever worrying about how the physical world functions and how can we control it, we wouldn't have achieved much as a species. It's a great book, but it still doesn't answer the question. In fact, it renders me all the more skeptical of the fact that anything is worth anything.
Then again, to actually get it over with and end your time in the Sun requires possibly an even greater motivation than to live through it. When you've achieved a state of passivity, when most things don't motivate you, you don't look forward to life any more than you look forward to death, and vice versa.

If you can meet with Triumph and DisasterAnd treat those two impostors just the same;

- "If" by Rudyard Kipling

But the good thing is, death doesn't scare you anymore. That's probably one of the advantages of being an atheist. Not believing in a supreme-being-who-is-perfectly-conscious-that-he-is-a-supreme-being enables your actions to not be guided by an eternal fear of divine punishment. A lot of people have a lot of opinions about God, but maybe it's just due to my bias that I find the ones denying his existence a lot more logical and convincing than the ones advocating it.

I, for one, believe that God is no different from luck, and as a consequence, I also believe that you can only resign yourself to it and not influence it by praising it. There's no concept of justice in the divine order of rewards and punishment. It's all random. Just as there is good luck and bad luck, there can be good God and bad God. You can't do squat about it. so when you are cursing your luck, you are effectively cursing God. Guess that makes the believers mighty uncomfortable. I'm okay with it though,and I never miss an opportunity to actively curse God whenever something unfavourable happens to me. What may be even more perplexing for believers is that I'm considerably luckier than many of the people I know! Don't attempt to explain it, because there is no explanation. Some things that affect you are beyond your control, and praying doesn't help. There aren't many things I'm sure of, but one thing is for certain: If there is a God, He definitely doesn't understand the concept of justice. Either that or he's just plain malevolent. To quote Jim Carrey's character from Bruce Almighty,

God is a mean kid on an anthill with a magnifying glass.

Let me quote an excerpt from possibly the greatest book ever written, at least according to me. Millions have read the master piece, and they can feel a little smug about it because I'm not going to name it, at the risk of copyright infringement of course.

'I wonder what he did to deserve it', the warrant officer with a malaria and a mosquito bite on his ass lamented after Nurse Cramer had read her thermometer and discovered the soldier in white was dead.

'He went to war', the fighter pilot with the golden moustache surmised

'We all went to war', Dunbar countered

'That's what I mean', the warrant officer with the malaria continued, 'Why him? There just doesn't seem to be any logic to this system of rewards and punishment. Look at what happened to me. if I had gotten syphillis or a dose of clap for my 5 minutes of passion on the beach instead of this damned mosquito bite, I could see justice. But malaria? Malaria?Who can explain malaria as a consequence of fornication?' The warrant officer shook his head in numb astonishment.

'What about me?' Yossarian said, 'I stepped out of my tent in Marrakech one night to get a bar of candy and caught your dose of clap when that Wac I never even saw before kissed me into the bushes. All I really wanted was a bar of candy, but who could turn it down?'

'That sounds like my dose of clap all right', the warrant officer agreed. 'But I've still got somebody else's malaria. Just for once I'd like to see all these things sort of straightened out, with each person getting exactly what he deserves. It might give me some confidence in this universe.'

'I've got somebody else's 3,00,000 dollars', the dashing young fighter captain with the golden moustache admitted. 'I've been goofing off since the day I was born. I cheated my way through prep school and college, and just about all I've been doing ever since is shacking up with pretty girls who think I'd make a good husband. I've got no ambition at all. The only thing I want to do after the war is marry some girl who's got more money with I have and shack up with lots more pretty girls. The 3,00,000 bucks was left to me before I was born by a grandfather who made a fortune selling on an international scale. I know I don't deserve it, but I'll be damned if I give it back. I wonder who it really belongs to.'

'Maybe it belongs to my father', Dunbar conjectured. 'He spent a lifetime at hard work and never could make enough money to even send my sister and me through college. He's dead now, so you might as well keep it.'

'Now, if we can just find out who my malaria belongs to we'd be all set. It's not that I've got anything against malaria. I'd just as soon goldbrick with malaria as with anything else. It's only that I feel an injustice has been committed. Why should I have somebody else's malaria and you have my dose of clap?'

'I've got more than your dose of clap', Yossarian told him. 'I've got to keep flying combat missions because of that dose of yours until they kill me.'

'That makes it even worse. Where's the justice in that?'

'I had a friend named Clevinger two and a half weeks ago who used to see plenty of justice in it.'

'It's the highest kind of justice of all,' Clevinger had gloated, clapping his hands with a merry laugh. 'I can't help thinking of Hippolytus of Euripides, where the early licentiousness of Theseus is probably responsible for the asceticism of the son that helps bring about the tragedy that ruins them all. If nothing else, that episode with the Wac should teach you the evils of sexual immorality.'

'It teaches me the evil of candy.'

In my continuous search for a convincing argument regarding the existence of God, I've read and laughed at the Cosmological, Ontological, Teleological and Moral arguments among others. I recently came across one particularly amusing one. It's called Pascal's Wager. Yup, it is attributed to the same Blaise Pascal whom you may have read about while learning probability theory,or the mechanism of hydraulic presses. It is all the more disappointing coming from a supposed man of reason. Here's how it goes:

If there is a God, He is infinitely incomprehensible, since, having neither parts nor limits, He has no affinity to us. We are then incapable of knowing either what He is or if He is....
..."God is, or He is not." But to which side shall we incline? Reason can decide nothing here. There is an infinite chaos which separated us. A game is being played at the extremity of this infinite distance where heads or tails will turn up. What will you wager? According to reason, you can do neither the one thing nor the other; according to reason, you can defend neither of the propositions.
Do not, then, reprove for error those who have made a choice; for you know nothing about it. "No, but I blame them for having made, not this choice, but a choice; for again both he who chooses heads and he who chooses tails are equally at fault, they are both in the wrong. The true course is not to wager at all."
Yes; but you must wager. It is not optional. You are embarked. Which will you choose then? Let us see. Since you must choose, let us see which interests you least. You have two things to lose, the true and the good; and two things to stake, your reason and your will, your knowledge and your happiness; and your nature has two things to shun, error and misery. Your reason is no more shocked in choosing one rather than the other, since you must of necessity choose. This is one point settled. But your happiness? Let us weigh the gain and the loss in wagering that God is. Let us estimate these two chances. If you gain, you gain all; if you lose, you lose nothing. Wager, then, without hesitation that He is. "That is very fine. Yes, I must wager; but I may perhaps wager too much." Let us see. Since there is an equal risk of gain and of loss, if you had only to gain two lives, instead of one, you might still wager. But if there were three lives to gain, you would have to play (since you are under the necessity of playing), and you would be imprudent, when you are forced to play, not to chance your life to gain three at a game where there is an equal risk of loss and gain. But there is an eternity of life and happiness. And this being so, if there were an infinity of chances, of which one only would be for you, you would still be right in wagering one to win two, and you would act stupidly, being obliged to play, by refusing to stake one life against three at a game in which out of an infinity of chances there is one for you, if there were an infinity of an infinitely happy life to gain. But there is here an infinity of an infinitely happy life to gain, a chance of gain against a finite number of chances of loss, and what you stake is finite.

Pascal decided to apply the logic of expected value to his beliefs about God. While the theory makes a lot of sense in probability and game theory, the man got a bit too carried away by it I guess. Many have offered plausible criticisms of the argument, and I especially like the one offered by Richard Dawkins. You can read about it on Wikipedia if you want, but I'm going to offer my own rebuttal here.

At first glance, the argument makes a lot of sense. What can you possibly lose by believing in God? Other than your sanity of course. Anyway, if the stakes are so high, and God truly is such a retarded egomaniac that he'll punish you for eternity if you don't praise him, surely he's also sensitive about what system of belief you follow. I mean if you're not a Christian, and the Christian belief is in fact right, you're screwed just as bad as an atheist. The same goes for all religions.

I believe in a supreme being but I didn't know that Islam was the true path. I'm sorry!

Too bad, motherfucker! You're toast!

It's especially confusing for a Hindu. There are millions of Gods and conflicting sects within Hinduism. What if Shiva punishes the Vaishnavas, or the other way round?

As is clear to me now after reading more about Pascal ol'fellow, he actually wanted to convince non-Christians to convert to Christianity when he came up with this little gem of his.

I guess I just miss my friends.
Alternatively, maybe I just need to get laid.

Friday, June 29, 2007

Corporate Lessons - Chapter 2: "English, Mothafucka! Do you speak it?"

Act 1

I got the spookiest phone call last night.

*Tring, tring* (actually, it was my cell phone and the ringtone was 'Money' by Pink Floyd, but *tring,tring* is so much more dramatic)

"Yeah?"

"Hi Avichal"

"Laloo?"

"Yea Hi this is Abhishek"

"Kya?? Laloo?"
(Translation: "What?? Laloo?")

"Yea did you talk to Anosh about the mail regarding change in shift timing?"

"Nahi be main 5 minute mein baat karke tujhe batata hun, waise tu bhi mail kar hi dena"
(Translation: "No man I'll talk to him and let you know in 5 minutes, but you send the mail anyway")

"Yea ok let me know"

If you're wondering what is so spooky about the call, I don't blame you. But consider this: I have never, NEVER once in the 4 years that I have known Abhishek aka Laloo, conversed with him in the Queen's language! Do you blame me for being scared out of my wits when Laloo suddenly calls up and unleashes howhaw Oxbridge on me??

Of course, being fellow corporate bitches, both he and I are expected to, and do speak English within our workspace. But still, I never thought he'd do this to me!

So I call back after 5 minutes and decide to lay it on him.

*Tring,tring* (This time it's the actual sound, since I'm making the call)

"Haan Laloo"
(Translation: "Yeah Laloo")

"Yeah Avichal" (He's still doing it!)

"Haan be mail kar dena pakke se, Anosh shayad ghar chala gaya hai"
(Translation: "Yeah dude send the mail for sure, Anosh seems to have left for home")

"Ok"

"Aur saale angrezi mein baat karne se pehle warning de diya karo"
(Translation:"And do warn me before you start talking to me in English asshole")

And I put the phone down immediately, thus conveying my reaction appropriately.

Act 2

Laloo returns from office, and I don't even wait to give him a breather.

"Behen ke laude angrezi mein kahe batiya rahe the phone par?"
(Translation: "Why the fuck were you talking in English over the phone you sister's dick?")

"Abe mera Boss paas mein hi tha, aur usne humko thodi hi der pehle lecture sunaya tha ki office mein Hindi nahi bolni hai kyunki foreign employees ko bura lagta hai"
(Translation: "Dude my Boss was nearby, and he had recently instructed us about not speaking in Hindi as it makes the foreign employees uncomfortable")

"Maa ki chut uski"
(Translation: "Fuck him!")

"Haan saala"
(Translation: "Sure!")

Yea yea I know I'm being unreasonably whiny and hypocritical about the whole thing, considering I'm actually writing this post in English and providing translations for all Hindi sentences. But it's still bewildering when your closest friends - with the possible exception of Mandu who was born out of America's pussy and plans to return there asap, and Dube who is just an incorrigible Delhi dood - talk to you in English. What's next? Mudit? Nishant? Barsaiyan? Dassa?? Tau??????

I'm too scared to write anything else!

Friday, May 05, 2006

What's a train journey to you David - reprise

For those who have read one of my earlier posts,
http://hardtimekillingfloor.blogspot.com/2005/07/whats-train-journey-to-youdavid.html
this one would hardly come as a surprise.The rest,in order to understand my general sentiments about steel monsters on iron tracks,should go through it once.

Anyway,I mentioned in the above post how I inevitably get bored to death even on my usual 3 hour sojourn from Kanpur to Allahabad.Now since the last two times,the course of events has been slightly different. You see, my usual pick for the usual journey happens to be the Rewa Express,which I board at an insanely and ungodly early morning hour.Thats cos it is seldom late and used to run relatively vacant too.That used to part can be blamed for my most recent experiences.
The first time I took this train to go home,I was accompanied by Nishant,Mandu,Barsaiyan,Dube and Shahi.We were going to participate in the MNNIT quiz fest(yea,right!the venue was Allahabad and all of us buggers just wanted to travel on insti expense while availing the additional advantage of home-cooked food).My Dad told me about this train,and we decided to give it a try.None of us cud wake up at 5 am to catch the insti bus which'd take us to the station,so we had to stay up the entire night.Caught the bus,reached the station,bought the tickets,and waited apprehensively on the platform wondering whether the general bogey would have enough space to even dangle precariously by the gate.But surprise,surprise!Firstly the train arrived exactly on time and secondly,would you believe it,the general bogey was absotively-posilutely empty!We simply couldn't believe our luck,especially me!I had discovered the most painless way to reach home,home again!

Few things haven't changed since then.I still board only the Rewa express to go home.I still stay up the entire night in order to catch the morning bus.I still buy the ticket,I'm still aprehensive about the crowd.But one thing has changed for sure.Its no more emptyville in the general bogey.
Hell there isn't even enough space to step inside.
Actually,maybe I should be more systematic about my experience.This is what happens to me after I reach the legendary Kanpur station:
1.Time:around 6 am.I get off the bus and head towards the ticket counter.Its not really crowded.Of course,not really crowded is a relative term.Its not crowded if you compare it to the same place at a later time of the day,but its still enough to make an Aussie,who has not seen so many people in all the cities of his country combined,faint with shock!

2.Also,the last two times I have been carrying a lot of luggage(lesser visits home and more n more clothes n stuff loaded on the way back).So standing in line for the ticket isn't a particularly elevating experience,what with having to check your luggage every 2 seconds and dragging it along with you as you move ahead,slowly but surely,in the line.

3.Time: 6:15 am.So i get the ticket and head for the platform,more often than not,platform no.6.The train is running right time as usual,and that proves to be the only good news all morning.well,almost!you don't call it running late if its just late by a mere 30 minutes,do u?Anyway,th platform isn't too crowded either,and every single time I congratulate myself for making it awake through another nightout and being able to catch the train.But as you'll see,my jubiliation is short-lived.

4.Time: 6:21 am.So I make an effort and lift my heavy luggage one final time to get to the far-end of the platform where the general bogey is supposed to park.Now is the first time I see people mysteriously making an appearance out of nowhere and crowding around the far-end for the same purpose as me.I put my luggage before some snack shop and observe the crowd while carefully contemplating whether its gonna be another of those sessions to get inside the train between sips of tea.Somehow,I'm always able to assure myself that the crowd hasn't yet assumed threatening proportions and it'll not be that bad.I'm not too wrong either,the crowd at this point does not threaten to cramp me for standing space,which is all I ask really.

5.Time: 6:27 am.Now the time for the train to arrive draws closer.Surprisingly,the announcer always omits to announce the time for my train while she happily announces away all early morning to late noon trains!A conspiracy,naaah probbaly not.Anyway,finally when the train is already late by half-an-hour,she finally announces it'll be there in a short while(read 15 minutes).
And all this while,the crowd continues to pour in from all directions and head towards my end forcing me to pick up my luggage one time more than I bargained for,and head still farther.

6.Time: 6:54 am.I finally see the engine moving towards me at a long distance.I tighten my grip on my bag and suitcase,and so does the rest of the junta(I mean on their respective bags and suitcases).When at last the train reaches within boarding distance,I see the true force of the population explosion.I have no frikkin idea where all these people hide before the actual arrival of the train,but they sure take me by surprise every single time.

7.I scramble for space and try my best to push myself inside the general bogey even as perfectly healthy persons stuff the bogey meant for disabled people and the ones actually physically challenged give up on their quest even befor they start.I stop for a moment to think,"Man!how pathetic is that!".And thats my fatal mistake.I lose my chance in a fraction of a second and suddenly the bogey looke like it would burst.but it doesn't.Much like the country to which it belongs,it seems to have an infinite capacity and generosity.I call it quits and head for the sleeper class bogey,ready to pay the T.T.E whatever he demands.

8.Time: 7:01 am.I manage to get inside without much ado.Of course,there is no place to sit here either.The really intelligent people had headed for the sleeper in the first place and had occupied the seats with more confidence than the people who had reserved berths.I am content with the standing space I manage to get near the washbasin.There are a handful of people crowded around the same place.Its not that bad,I think.When the train starts moving,I'll adjust my luggage slightly and sit on my bag or suitcase.Its only a matter of 3 hours,after all.

9.Time: 7:09 am.And then the train does start moving.Its time for the grand finale.Just as mysteriously as the happenings at the platform,from nowhere,a sea of people enters the bogey.Where the fuck were they sitting earlier,I think??Then I realize,oh fuck!they weren't sitting!So now the standing space becomes more cramped than the general bogey(ok thats a slight exaggeration,but the effect is necessary).Phew!I look at my watch.3 hours like this?

10.No wait,there's more.It's morning time,folks!Time for nature's calls and other ablutions.And where am I standing?Oh in the path leading to the toilet obviously.I'll not elaborate any further....

But then,the train strangely enough never gets delayed between Kanpur to Allahabad and invariably makes it in a good half-an-hour less than the scheduled time.

All's well that ends well,that's what they say,don't they?
Well that's exactly why I hate them!

Sunday, April 16, 2006

CFG - Complete Friggin Genius: Follow-e-Dilbert

CFG - Complete Friggin Genius: Follow-e-Dilbert

This is a fellow clan member.As of now,we're the only two in the clan,but I challenge you to resist instant conversion after reading the above post.

Thursday, February 23, 2006

Train(s) of thought

Acknowledgement: The following post is guilty of shameless plagiarism.The idea is inspired by Kaushik's orkut profile.He's changed it now,though,so I feel pretty saintly being honest about it.

Ok this happens to me nearly everyday during most lectures.I can't focus in class.Absofuckinlutely not!It has been happening since the first sem,but this sem,my 6th,has seen me scaling new heights in lack-of-concentration-in-class.This is how my mind usually plays tricks on me.

Venue:Lecture hall 11,mostly
One of the Profs is blabbering away.Say Dr.Mazumdar.I'm taking his example because he's so loud in class that even the most sleepy souls can't catch forty winks.Not that I ever sleep during lectures.Nope,thats the other problem.I am as awake as,well,any fully awake person(I thank Scott Adams for inhibiting my ability to quote appropriate analogies).
Anyway,the point is,if I can daydream in this lecture,the rest of the Profs don't really stand a chance.

A typical train of thought: (Song playing in head)Whooo are you,who who,who who?Who the fuck are you,who who,who who? Man!If Pete Townshend isn't God,I don't know who God is!Wonder if my band members will ever agree to cover The Who songs.Probably not,they're already on an overdose of Floyd. Vinny will kill me if I mention more classic Rock'n'Roll.Hmmm...what bands does that genre really spawn?Rolling Stones is probably the flagship band.Actually,it sounds pretty similar to The Who. And Floyd? can never be sure about their genre.But who cares? They're Gods anyway.Huh,what?Oh shit,he asked a question.What the fuck is going on anyway?Alternative Iron making,shit!Gawd!what did I do to deserve this?Oh,he's coming this way.If you're there,God,now is the time to prove it.Phew!he asked Neerav.Well,Okay I'm beginning to get convinced.Concentrate,man,concentrate!
Now what is Hiran asking?How would I know?Nishant seems to have an idea.How is he so attentive in class?Shit,people are writing copious amounts of stuff.When did he say all this?
Well,there goes more photocopy money flying!Money,so they say,Is the root of all evil today!
I can never get how Money is Floyd's only top 20 hit in the US? That is another reason for me to believe that Americans are assholes.But they make some great movies.Ooh man,The Shawshank Redemption. Why didn't it win an Oscar?Oh yea,the Americans are assholes!Gotta watch Mystic River asap.Once I get over with this goddamn quiz!Oh,shit!got practice tonight.But Panty isn't coming.So probably we'll just do Highway to Hell.Phat jayegi yaar!The chorus part is so fuckin high.Lets see if Vishnu can help me out with it.Will junta come to see a rock show here?Hmm,maybe we'll put up the list of songs a few days before the show.Smoke on the water,Highway to Hell,Run like Hell ought to draw some crowd at least.
How much time left?10 more minutes!Lets see what's going on.Hmmmm......no idea.
Arre yaar,gotta prepare at leats one good dance before the sem ends.The boys really want to take a team to other colleges.Oh,the prize money for Groovin.Gotta talk to Pathak today.
Will we be able to go to Allahabad for Gnosiomania?Well,Dube and Shahi are ready.Not sure about Mandu though.Lets see if Nishant and Barsaiyan agree.It'll be fun if they do.
Just 2 more mins,hmm...120,119,118,117......

You get the picture,don't you?